To Blog, or Not to Blog?

"The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark", Act III, Scene 1

I asked myself lots of questions before I started blogging, the central question being: do I really have anything relevant to add to the public discourse?

We all know with the soliloquy from William Shakespeare‘s play Hamlet which begins “To be, or not to be” What may be less known is what originally came next. In the first quarto, it is “I there’s the point”. The more familiar “that is the question” doesn’t show up until the 1623 First Folio. In communications, I think that “To be, or not to be, I there’s the point” is an question when considering what tactics to use in our strategies.

PR columnist Alison Kenney recently posted an paradoxical blog about why you shouldn’t write a blog. She challenges people to ask themselves some of the same questions I considered myself such as “Will I have the time? and “Can I sustain it?”

For the full list of questions, go to LindsayOlson.com to read “Seven Reasons Not to Blog“. After you do, and you’re considering whether to blog or not to blog, also make sure there’s a point.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Blog, or Not to Blog?

  1. Well, Todd, there are blogs and there are blogs. (I don’t think Shakespeare wrote that, but he might today. My blog, cited above, is intended to announce news and, yes, promote business items. Not a lot of RSS subscribers, but quite a few occasional visitors, and each one important because of a shared interest.

    I also use my blog to expand on ideas that I email to a customer list. That way, they don’t have to read a long email when it may be inconvenient. They can get a taste of the subject and click through to the blog when they have more time or a compelling current interest.

    So, to blog to not to blog? The answer is “yes”.

    • Todd Post says:

      I think you’re right, but I think there is a difference between a “blog” in the traditional sense and the technology behind the blog. One good description I’ve seen for a blog is: “Derivative of ‘weblog.’ A series of entries to an online journal, posted in some chronological order. Sometimes used, incorrectly, by writers to describe discussion forums or even all websites not affiliated with offline publishers.”

      There are plenty of applications for RSS technology and blog sites like WordPress. One could be to use it like you would have an online newsroom five years ago, like you said to announce news and promote your business. In fact, I think this is a great use of the replacing the old press release. Using an RSS feed in this way you can still get the information out there, it boosts your SEO, but you’re not badgering reporters with dull releases. Others are using WordPress as a content management system to build web pages with great results.

      If someone is going to use blogs as they were originally intended though (a “weblog”) and don’t have time to keep it fresh, don’t have much to say, or think it is some sort of silver bullet may want to reconsider though.

Leave a Reply

