“Pinky, are you pondering what I’m pondering?”

"Pinky, are you pondering what I'm pondering?"“Pinky, are you pondering what I’m pondering?”

“I think so Brain, but does the Internet need yet another strategic communications blog?”

I struggled with this Pinky and the Brain-esque internal debate about starting this blog for two reasons:  first being that my mind often works in pop culture references and secondly it seems like everyone and their third cousin twice removed has a blog these days and most of them probably don’t contribute much to society other than satisfying vanity of some sort or variation of King George III’s answer to the question “Do you think that you are mad?” in The Madness of King George:

“I don’t know. I don’t know. Madness isn’t such torment. Madness isn’t half blind. Madmen can stand. They skip. They dance. And I talk. I talk and talk and talk. I hear the words, so I have to speak them. I have to empty my head of the words.”

For me, I don’t know if it’s that “I hear the words, so I have to speak them” or a Howard Beale realization that “Yeah, I think I’d like to be an angry prophet denouncing the hypocrisies of our times.”  Part of it is that I do feel I have something to contribute to the conversation of how to effectively go about communicating strategically, but I’m not going to fool myself into thinking I’ll have the reach or influence of Seth Godin…yet. While I don’t share Brain’s desire to do “The same thing we do every night, Pinky — try to take over the world!”, I definitely aspire to be a player and an influencer.

That being the case, like they say with the lottery, you have to “play to win”.  While an active participant in social media on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Yelp, etc. and maintaining a WordPress blog with a very niche focus on early American history, none of my engagement is done professionally.  I don’t happen to have the opportunity at this moment as my client and the company I work for haven’t figured out where they fit in the social media, so right now they’re sitting on the sidelines studying it.  Meanwhile, “I hear the words, so I have to speak them” on what I think constitutes good communication, so I hope to use this blog as an outlet for that.

So I hope that the ramblings that follow, resources I share, tweets I retweet, etc. will provide some useful insight to those who read them.  If nothing else, they’ll get the voices out of my head.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Personal Ramblings, Social Media. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Pinky, are you pondering what I’m pondering?”

  1. Pingback: To Blog or Not to Blog? | Strategic communications from the inside

Leave a Reply

